Preparing to Leave Cuenca…

31 10 2009

IMG_0006

Next friday will be my last day teaching English to my 10 and 11 year old whiney wawas. Truth be told, after living in Ecuador for 3 months now I think I’ll miss them more than anybody. But right now I miss cycling so I’m cleaning out my closet and placing some last-minute orders at the local shop.

One of my small closets that needed cleaning is affectionately referred to as a handlebar bag. Inside I found hundreds of little papers with information from some people I wish I could remember and some people I will never forget. There’s Carlos, the Director of something. There’s the UFO-hunting couple living in a tent in the Peruvian desert, carving a sailboat shape into a cliffside for some reason. There’s my amigo James from Australia who helped the Bolivian police in an endangered animal skin trade raid. And over there to the right you’ll find a list of new links from some of the touring cyclists I’ve crossed paths with.

Here I sit on the couch at the local hotel, working a double shift as an illegal immigrant. Being a new hotel with few guests, it gives me the opportunity to update the website while I watch a program in Spanish with a title that translates to something like “Desert Oceans and Empty Nets.” The quote of the day comes from a man with glasses and a mustache: “If you went into a store and saw rhinocerous steaks and tiger chops you might ask a few questions.” Due to the current overfishing all over the world, he says “we should ask the same questions when shopping for fish.” Come to think of it, I remember getting an email from Green Peace about their TRAITOR Joe’s campaign. Let’s see if I can track down the link… Green Peace put together this sarcastic website to challenge TRADER Joe’s, a “green” grocery store chain accused of greenwashing due to the high amounts of red-list-seafood it buys and sells (15 of 22!!!). Thar she blows: www.TraitorJoe.com

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 11 2009
joseline

me parece muy bien lo que haces, y yo te apoyo, y también te ayudare diciendo por mi barrio que ayuden a cuidar la ciudad y el pais, pero sobre todo el medio ambiente; evitando quemar los arboles y talar lo bosque, tambien que no boten basura en la calle o en el piso sino que lo boten en la basura, y nles dire también que ayuden a reciclar.
saludos para ti y para katty
los quiero muchisimooooooooooooooo…!
sigue adelante,(!RIDEFORTHETREES!)
ATT:Joseline

16 11 2009
maria jose palacios

Samuel hi just wanted to ask what is your email porfa contact me at my email pepitapb96@hotmail.com thanks

Leave a Reply

